Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

> The MSF website may undergo scheduled maintenance every Tues, Fri and Sun, from 12am to 9am.
> View the latest Safe Management Measures for weddings, other COVID-19 advisories or COVID-19 FAQs (for support schemes, etc).

Singapore Government

ASEAN Plus Three Workshop on on Work-Life Harmony

ASEAN Plus Three Workshop on on Work-Life Harmony

Published On
05 Nov 2013

Singapore hosted the ASEAN Plus Three[1] Workshop on “Work-Life Harmony to Promote Women’s Economic Participation” on 4-5 Nov 2013. The Workshop was organised by the Ministry of Manpower and the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) for leaders of woman organisations from the public and people sectors of the 10 ASEAN Member States and from China, Japan and Republic of Korea.  The Workshop was partially funded by the Japan-ASEAN Integration Fund (JAIF).

The two-day workshop provided a platform for work-life policy-makers and practitioners to discuss challenges in achieving work-life harmony, as well as share leading practices to facilitate work-life balance and women’s economic participation and empowerment. Workshop participants also visited KPMG Services Pte Ltd and Maybank Singapore to experience best practices by these 2012 Work-Life Excellence Award winners.   

Ms Low Yen Ling, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Social and Family Development said, “I am heartened by the strong support given by ASEAN Plus Three delegates for the Workshop. Work-life challenges transcend national boundaries. Many women all over the world want to be their best at home and at work, and to be able to reconcile these competing demands with their personal aspirations and expectations.”

Ms Low added, “Empowering women to reach their potential needs the strong support of government, employers and the society. With greater understanding and recognition of the multiple roles women play at work and in society, we can better create a network of support and environment for women to flourish and contribute to our future.”



[1] “ASEAN Plus Three” refers to ASEAN (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam) and the three East Asia nations of China, Japan and Republic of Korea.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Related Media Room Items