Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

> The MSF website may undergo scheduled maintenance every Tues, Fri and Sun, from 12am to 9am.
> View the latest Safe Management Measures for weddings, other COVID-19 advisories or COVID-19 FAQs (for support schemes, etc).

Singapore Government

Industry-Community Forum to Enhance Responsible Gambling in Singapore

Industry-Community Forum to Enhance Responsible Gambling in Singapore

A Responsible Gambling Forum comprising industry and community leaders has been established to enhance responsible gambling practices across all forms of gambling in Singapore. The suggestion for a Responsible Gambling Forumwas first mooted during the stakeholder consultation conducted by the National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG) in July 2012, and had garnered strong support from stakeholders.

Mr Chan Chun Sing, Acting Minister for Social and Family Development, who had supported the idea for such a Forum during the amendments to the Casino Control Act in Nov 2012, has appointed 16 members to the Responsible Gambling Forum (see Annex for the list of members). The Forum will be co-chaired by Mr Tan Soo Nan (Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Pools (Private) Limited) and Mr Patrick Liew (Chairman of Ayer Rajah Citizens’ Consultative Committee).

The Forum will facilitate the community and the gambling industry to exchange information and views to enable shared understanding of societal concerns on responsible gambling and problem gambling, commit to shared ownership and collective action on responsible gambling measures, formulate responsible gambling practices to be implemented by the gambling industry, and monitor, evaluate and improve the effectiveness of responsible gambling practices in Singapore.

Acting Minister Mr Chan Chun Sing commented, “The formation of the Responsible Gambling Forum is a milestone. The collaboration between the community and industry will raise responsible gambling practices across all forms of gambling in Singapore. This will minimise excessive and problem gambling among patrons. I am glad that this Forum has the support and commitment of both the community and gambling operators.”

One of the Responsible Gambling Forum’s co-chairs, Mr Tan Soo Nan said, “I welcome the establishment of a formal dialogue channel for gambling operators and the community to take stock of existing responsible gambling measures, and discuss what more can be done to protect patrons, especially the vulnerable.”

Mr Patrick Liew, who is the other co-chair, added, “I look forward to a meaningful dialogue with all stakeholders to exchange views, concerns and expectations for responsible gambling. The Forum will be an excellent platform to foster mutual understanding and collaboration for the greater good of society.”

The Responsible Gambling Forum will convene in mid-2013, and meet quarterly thereafter. The Forum will provide periodic updates to the public on its progress.

12 APRIL 2013



Composition of Responsible Gambling Forum

   Industry Representatives  Designation/Organisation
 1  Mr Tan Soo Nan (Co-Chairman)  Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Pools (Private) Limited
 2  Ms Agnes Eu  Chief Executive, HomeTeam NS
 3  Mr Edward Leong  Chief Executive Officer, SAFRA
 4  Mr Tan Hee Teck  Chief Executive Officer, Resorts World Sentosa Pte Ltd
 5  Mr George Tanasijevich  President & Chief Executive Officer, Marina Bay Sands Pte Ltd
 6  Mr Yeo Khee Leng  Chief Executive Officer, NTUC Club
 7  Mr Yu Pang Fey  President & Chief Executive, Singapore Turf Club 
   Community Representatives  Designation/Organisation
 1  Mr Patrick Liew (Co-Chairman)  Chairman, Ayer Rajah Citizens’ Consultative Committee
 2  Mr Raja Ram Bawajee  Chairman, Hindu Advisory Board
 3  Bishop Terry Kee  President, National Council of Churches of Singapore
 4  Mr Lee Kim Siang  Chairman, Thye Hua Kwan Moral Society
 5  Mdm Maznah Masop  Chief Executive, Persatuan Pemudi Islam Singapura
 6  Mr Steven Lam  Vice-Chairman, Punggol Central Citizens’ Consultative Committee
 7  Dr Lim Boon Leng  Vice-Chairman, Ang Mo Kio Family Service Centres
 8  Mr Viswa Sadasivan  Vice-President, SINDA 
   NCPG Representative  Designation/Organisation
 1  Mr Tan Kian Hoon  Chairman, Responsible Gambling Sub-committee, National  Council on Problem Gambling


Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Related Media Room Items