Have a question about MSF? Find quick answers with our chatbot Ask MSF.
MSF website may undergo scheduled maintenance on Tue, 20 Feb, 8pm to Wed, 21 Feb, 2am & Sat, 24 Feb, 6pm to Sun, 25 Feb, 2am.
During these maintenance period, users may experience intermittent access issues or downtime when accessing the website. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Next Enabling Masterplan Steering Committee to Chart Roadmap till 2030 to Support Persons with Disabilities to Build a More Caring and Inclusive Society

Type: Press Releases

Topic(s): Disability Services

As the third Enabling Masterplan (2017 – 2021) approaches its final year, the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) has convened a Steering Committee to develop the next Enabling Masterplan for 2022 to 2030 to support persons with disabilities. The Steering Committee held their first meeting yesterday, where they discussed the direction and focus areas for the next edition of the Enabling Masterplan.

2. Since 2007, Singapore had developed successive Enabling Masterplans to guide our efforts to transform Singapore into a more caring and inclusive society, where persons with disabilities can fulfil their potential to be integral and contributing members of society.

3. The 27-member Steering Committee is co-chaired by Mr Gan Seow Kee, Vice-Chairman of the Singapore Business Federation, and Mr Eric Chua, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Social and Family Development. It comprises members from the people, private and public sectors, including persons with disabilities and caregivers (see Annex A-1). With its wealth of diverse experiences, the Steering Committee will seek to strengthen partnerships across business, community and government, and involve persons with disabilities in co-creating solutions in a range of areas including continuing education and learning, employment, healthcare and accessibility.

4. The next Enabling Masterplan will adopt a longer runway of eight years for implementation, compared to previous five-year editions. This will enable the Steering Committee to develop a longer-term vision and set meaningful longer-term goals for a more inclusive Singapore in 2030. The Steering Committee will study a wide range of areas, including

  • Enabling persons with disabilities at all life stages to fulfil their potential and achieve their aspirations through further efforts in early intervention, education, employment, and continuing education and learning;
  • Strengthening the disability sector through capability-building and a more pervasive use of data and technology; and
  • Transforming mindsets and values such that including persons with disabilities in all aspects of society is our usual way of life.

5. MSF, together with the Steering Committee, will be engaging persons with disabilities, caregivers, disability organisations, social service agencies, members of the public as well as interested stakeholders, to gather their views, ideas and feedback. Together, we will shape our collective vision of a more inclusive Singapore in 2030.

Annex A-1 List of Members of the EMP2030 Steering Committee


  1. Mr Eric Chua – Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) and Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth (MCCY)
  2. Mr Gan Seow Kee – Vice Chairperson, Singapore Business Federation

Private Sector Representatives

  1. Dr Chen Shiling – Founder, Happee Hearts Movement & Physician, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital and Tsao Foundation
  2. Ms Chia Yong Yong – Managing Director, Chia Yong Yong Law Corporation, Adviser to the Board of SPD & Board Member, SG Enable
  3. Dr Chong Yoke Sin – Managing Partner, iGlobe Partners, President, Singapore Computer Society & Board Member, SG Enable
  4. Dr Djoni Huang – Director (Clinical Services), Mount Alvernia Hospital
  5. Mr Dominic Nathan – Managing Editor/ English, Malay and Tamil Media (EMTM) Group, Singapore Press Holdings
  6. Dr Lim Hong Huay – Director, Rophi Clinic, Board Member, SG Enable & Board Chair and Project 3i Lead, CaringSG
  7. Mr Michael Ngu – President and CEO, Architects 61
  8. Mr Moses Lee – Chairman, Special Needs Trust Company
  9. Ms Wee Wei Ling – Executive Director (Asset, Lifestyle and Community Partnerships), Pan Pacific Hotels Group & Co-founder, Extra.Ordinary People

People Sector Representatives

  1. Mr Abhimanyau Pal – CEO, SPD
  2. Mr Chong Kwek Bin – Head (Advocacy, Communications, Employment and Training), Singapore Association of the Visually Handicapped (SAVH)
  3. Ms Denise Phua – President, Autism Resource Centre (ARC)
  4. Mr Karthikeyan J.R. – CEO, AWWA
  5. Mr Kelvin Koh – CEO, Movement for the Intellectually Disabled of Singapore (MINDS)
  6. Mr Martin Marini – President, Singapore Association for the Deaf (SADeaf)
  7. Mr Richard Kuppusamy – President, Disabled People’s Association (DPA)
  8. Ms Sherena Loh – Co-founder and Director, Muscular Dystrophy Association Singapore (MDAS)
  9. Ms Tan Sze Wee – Executive Director, Rainbow Centre

Public Sector Representatives

  1. Mr Lim Teck Yin – CEO, Sport Singapore
  2. Dr Benjamin Koh – Deputy Secretary (Development), Ministry of Health (MOH)
  3. Mr James Wong – Deputy Secretary (Land and Corporate), Ministry of Transport (MOT)
  4. Mr John Lim – Second Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF)
  5. Ms Lim Wan Yong – Deputy Secretary (Planning), Ministry of National Development (MND)
  6. Ms Melissa Khoo – Deputy Secretary (Policy), Ministry of Education (MOE)
  7. Mr Poon Hong Yuen – Deputy Secretary (Workforce), Ministry of Manpower (MOM)