Have a question about MSF? Find quick answers with our chatbot Ask MSF.
MSF website may undergo scheduled maintenance on Tue, 20 Feb, 8pm to Wed, 21 Feb, 2am & Sat, 24 Feb, 6pm to Sun, 25 Feb, 2am.
During these maintenance period, users may experience intermittent access issues or downtime when accessing the website. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Family Violence Working Group

Topic(s): Protection from Domestic Violence

The Family Violence Working Group (FVWG) is part of the National Family Violence Networking System (NFVNS), a ground-up initiative started in 1996 to coordinate efforts towards protecting victims of family violence and promote preventive initiatives. The FVWG comprises multiple agencies that co-create solutions to address gaps and areas for improvement in family violence awareness and prevention.

Objective of the FVWG

The FVWG aims to foster and strengthen inter-agency collaborations at the regional level, to raise awareness of family violence and ensure that survivors and their families have access to help and support.

Membership Composition in the FVWG

As of March 2021, there are seven FVWGs, based on geographical boundaries of the Police Land Division (Clementi, Bedok, Ang Mo Kio, Jurong, Tanglin, Central and Woodlands). There are over a hundred members from the social service agencies, hospitals, the Singapore Police Force, Family Justice Courts, educational and religious institutions. MSF's Adult Protective Service (APS) of the Rehabilitation and Protection Group oversees all seven regional FVWGs.

FVWG list of participating agencies

For more information on MSF's public education efforts on domestic violence awareness, please visit our Break the Silence website.

About the National Family Violence Networking System (NFVNS)

The National Family Violence Networking System (NFVNS) is led by the Family Violence Dialogue Group (FVDG). The FVDG is led by Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) and the Singapore Police Force, and comprises representatives from the Family Court, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Education, Singapore Prison Service, National Council of Social Service, and nine Social Service Agencies. It focuses on strategic development and planning to combat family violence on a policy level. The NFVNS is the larger system which focuses more on the operational aspect of managing cases of family violence. It also includes Family Service Centres, Crisis Shelters, hospitals, Voluntary Children’s Homes and other Social Service Agencies in areas such as disability and elder service.